Kamis, Januari 31, 2013


Located off the northwest tip of Bird's Head Peninsula on the island of New Guinea, in Indonesia's West Papua province, Raja Ampat, or the Four Kings, is an archipelago comprising over 1,500 small islands, cays, and shoals surrounding the four main islands of Misool, Salawati, Batanta, and Waigeo, and the smaller island of Kofiau. Raja Ampat Regency is a new regency which separated from Sorong Regency in 2004. It encompasses more than 40,000 km² of land and sea, which also contains Cenderawasih Bay, the largest marine national park in Indonesia. It is a part of the newly named West Papua (province) of Indonesia which was formerly Irian Jaya. The islands are the most northern pieces of land in the Australian continent.

Raja Ampat West Papua Bird view

Raja Ampat West Papua Picture

Raja Ampat West Papua Island

The name of Raja Ampat comes from local mythology that tells about a woman who finds seven eggs. Four of the seven eggs hatch and become kings that occupy four of Raja Ampat biggest islands whilst the other three become a ghost, a woman, and a stone. History shows that Raja Ampat was once a part of Tidore Kingdom, an influential kingdom from Maluku. Yet, after Holland invaded Maluku, it was shortly claimed as a part of the kingdom of Holland. The main occupation for people around this area is fishing since the area is dominated by the sea. They live in a small colony of tribes that spreads around the area. Although traditional culture still strongly exists, they are very welcoming to visitors. Their religion is dominantly Christian.

Raja Ampat West PapuaGreat Attraction

Raja Ampat West Papua Sea Life
Galery Berita Unik Dan Menarik
Galery Berita unik dan Menarik Updated at: 1/31/2013 10:16:00 PM

Tidak ada komentar:

Posting Komentar

Xpresikan Komentar sobat disini sesuka hati, sesuai dengan Tuntunan Demokrasi dan tanpa menyakiti siapapun yang tak layak disakiti !!!
No Spam
No Life Link
No Sara
No Teror